PHOTOS: Champions crowned at Williams Lake Curling Club’s annual Joint Bonspiel

Kristi Denby (from left) and Wendy Miller sweep while Naomi Miller keeps an eye on her shot Sunday during the women’s ‘A’ division final at the Williams Lake Curling Club’s annual Joint Men’s and Women’s Bonspiel. Denby, Wendy and Naomi were a part of Debbie Rand’s rink, who won the championship over the team of skip Donna Shiach, Carol Johnson, Betty Dryden and Kirstin Lauren. (Greg Sabatino photo)
Quesnel’s Colin Shpak rink.
Rob Sutton fires a rock while Mike McMullan (left) and Mike Dextrase sweep.
Mike McMullan and Mike Dextrase
Betty Dryden and Carol Johnson
Mark Berg and Bill Garratt
Kristi Denby (from left), Naomi Miller and Wendy Miller
Ken Kvist (left) and John Dryden
Bill Garratt (from left), Mark Berg and Rod Mohr
Ken Kvist (from left), John Dryden and Roger Hicks
Mike McMullen (from left), skip Jerry Mooney and Rob Sutton

Twelve men’s teams and nine women’s teams — 84 players in all — converged at the Williams Lake Curling Club during the weekend for the annual Men’s and Women’s Joint Bonspiel.

After games determined standings and playoff standings, teams squared off Sunday morning for cash and prizes in ‘A,’ ‘B,’ and ‘C’ divisions.

Winners are as follows:

Men’s A Division

Winners: skip Jerry Mooney, third Mike Dextrase, second Rob Sutton and lead Mike McMullen

Runners up: skip Colin Shpak, third Gary Stene, second David Henderson and lead Roger Kaleta

Women’s A Division

Winners: skip Debbie Rand, third Kristi Denby, second Naomi Miller and lead Wendy Miller

Runners up: skip Donna Shiach, third Carol Johnson, second Betty Dryden and lead Kirstin Lauren

Men’s B Division

Winners: skip Ron Bisaro, third Bill Garratt, second Mark Berg and lead Rod Mohr

Runners up: skip Ken Hall, third John Dryden, second Ken Kvist and lead Roger Hicks

Women’s B Division

Winners: skip Joanne Doddridge, third Tanya Hammerstron, second Brenda Bourassa and lead Pat Witty

Runners up: skip Maria Hamilton, third Dianne Menzer, second Debbie Cairns and lead Celeste Faessler

Men’s C Division

Winners: skip Rick Miller, third Bill Rand, second Tim Fisch and lead Bill Pinchbeck

Runners up: skip Doug Witty, third Kevin Cairns, second Pat Hamilton and lead Dan Rimmel

Women’s C Division

Winners: skip Leona McKay, third Brenda Jeannotte, second Shirley Park and lead Leslie Conners

Runners up: skip Brenda Sanford, third Bridgitte Pinchbeck, second Trenisa Durfeld and lead Amanda Rennie

For more on the bonspiel see Wednesday’s Tribune.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Orange Shirt Society launches first textbook on residential school history

Phyllis Webstad and Joan Sorley worked on the 156-page book to help educate students

Williams Lake city council to approve whale mural

Through e-mail poll of council mural was accepted, it will be ratified at a regular meeting

Culture Days showcases diversity of talent in Quesnel

The Quesnel Downtown Art Walk kicked off Sept. 26

PHOTOS: Barkerville planning for Halloween events and virtual field trips

This year’s Halloween events will focus on traditional trick or treating, and tickets are limited

105 new COVID-19 cases, 1 death as health officials urge B.C. to remember safety protocols

There are currently 1268 active cases, with 3,337 people under public health monitoring

B.C. VOTES 2020: Businesses now owe $6 billion in deferred tax payments

COVID-19 relief from remittance to province ends with September

VIDEO: Smithers friendship centre launches canoe to mark Orange Shirt Day

Residential School survivor feels honoured by events held to recognize hardships endured

Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

Long-term care study credits fewer COVID deaths in B.C. than Ont. to funding, policy

The study was published Wednesday in the Canadian Medical Association Journal

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

Metis pilot Teara Fraser profiled in new DC Comics graphic novel of women heroes

The Canadian pilot’s entry is titled: ‘Teara Fraser: Helping Others Soar’

Horgan vows to replace B.C.’s shared senior care rooms in 10 years

$1.4 billion construction on top of staff raises, single-site work

More sex abuse charges laid against B.C. man who went by ‘Doctor Ray Gaglardi’

Investigators now focussing efforts on alleged victims within the Glad Tidings Church community

Most Read