Skip to content

Dickson and Belleau community achievers

Dave Dickson of Williams Lake and Catherine Belleau of Alkali Lake are among the B.C. Community Achievement award recipients.

Dave Dickson of Williams Lake and Catherine Belleau of Alkali Lake are among the B.C. Community Achievement award recipients, announced by Premier Christy Clark today.

Dickson and Belleau are among 34 British Columbians to receive a 2012 B.C. Community Achievement Award.

“Dave Dickson is most deserving of this award, and council is so proud to have him as our safer communities co-ordinator and director of the Emergency Social Services Team,” Mayor Kerry Cook says. “His commitment, his dedication, and his ability to bring partners together to find solutions to community issues are an example to us all. He does a great service for the entire community.”

“Dave’s level of commitment, work ethic, and passion truly are second to none,” says Inspector Warren Brown, commander of the Williams lake RCMP detachment. “His determination and actions symbolize outstanding professionalism and co-operation with global consideration of our communities affected by threats to public safety, and serves as a model for members and employees of other police agencies to emulate. We are fortunate to have Dave and I am very glad to see that he is receiving this level of recognition.”

A news release says Dickson is also the director of the Williams Lake Emergency Support Services Team and serves as a governor on the Board of Thompson Rivers University.

Premier Christy Clark says she is pleased to recognize the outstanding contributions of this year’s Community Achievement Awards recipients.

“Charity begins at home; that’s what I’ve always believed and I want to thank these remarkable British Columbians for giving their time, dedication and energy to make a positive difference in their communities and our province,” Clark says.

Belleau pioneered the day-care program at Alkali Lake.

“She has demonstrated gentle, loving support for the children in her community for more than 30 years,” the news release says. “Catherine has consistently upgraded her qualifications and passed along her knowledge to the next generation of childcare providers. She continues today to serve the children and youth of her Esk’etemc community.”

“The community achievement awards honour individuals who have made a significant contribution either as a volunteer or in the course of their work,” says Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation. “Today’s recipients contribute in many areas — health, education, multiculturalism, arts and culture, environment, philanthropy, and youth or seniors’ leadership, among others.”

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year’s council members are Mayor Larry Cross of Sidney, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of Quesnel, and past recipients Marlene Grinnell of Langley (2006), Patrick Kelly of Victoria (2009) and Jane Frost of Vancouver (2006).

The recipients of the 2012 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards will be recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on April 25. Each will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the Province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, B.C.’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for First Nations’ Art, and the B.C. Aboriginal Business Awards.